Book Review- The Heart Of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

Hello everyone, I am super happy this month and craving for more and more books after my reading slumps.But thanks to myself cause I have many pending books in my TBR list, So have to complete them first.Coming to the point-Let’s talk about Thr Heart Of Betrayal.

1516396_1717154901894371_127045733_n.jpg

About-

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.


 

My Review –

The heart of betrayal is the second book in “The Remnant Series”.The first book was ‘The kiss of deception’ which I absolutely loved.

In The Heart of Betrayal, Lia and Rafe are taken to Venda to live at the mercy of the Komizar. Lia has no allies in Venda, though she starts to build small alliances with unexpected citizens. There is something about Venda that is unlike anything Lia has experienced. Her gift changes and starts taken shape. Lia begins to see things in Venda that she has n seen before. All the while, Lia has drawn the Komizar’s interest, and not a good interest. Rafe lies his way into staying alive, with everyone believing that he is the Royal Emissary of the Dalbreck crown prince. With each passing day, it is clear that there are no rules to survival, and both must do what they can to have a chance at escaping.

I enjoyed the second book too maybe not as much as I did The Kiss Of Deception. I found it a little slow-paced for my own liking, majority of the book was written to explain the back story of the Vendans, which I really appreciated. I appreciated that the back story wasn’t compromised, but then again I’ve been craving for some action, but this craving wasn’t really satisfied not until the end part of the book, which made a lot of difference, I think I held my breath more than humanly possible because of that ending. It was intense and gripping, it sure made up for all the dragging parts of the book.

I also like the mysterious “gift” part of the series plot though. A lot of it revolves around Venda, curiously. And yet, I feel more lost, in terms of Lia’s gift, and its connection to Venda. Hopefully all will be explained in book three.

So until then, let’s all hold hands just to get through this whole ordeal of waiting for the third book.

Ratings –

I’ll give this book  4/5 stars.

“Confluence-a coming together by chance.. Together they become something greater, but it isn’t delicate or sweet. Like a raging river, a confluence can lead to something impossible to predict or control… Yet sometimes the coming together, the confluence of destinies, seemed not to be by chance at all.”
― Mary E. PearsonThe Heart of Betrayal

3 thoughts on “Book Review- The Heart Of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

  1. Pingback: www-wednesday, 12-oct-2016 – Girl Who Reads

Leave a Reply

