BOOK REVIEW-THE CROWN by Kiera Cass (spoiler free)

 

12547577_460458774143072_772260976_n(1)

I did it!, I finally finished it.I’ll miss this series and specially the covers.They are so pretty.To be frank i didn’t enjoy the The Heir that much but The Crown was better.

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairy tale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

This has both served me well and disappointed me depending on which book in the series I am reviewing, as some of the books (The Selection, The One, The Heir) I’ve found decent, quick reads, while others (The Elite, the novellas, etc.) were a chore to read. I went into The Crown with high hopes, seeing as I much preferred Eadlyn to America as a protagonist, and there wasn’t that over the top angst love triangle to suffer through.

I liked the inversion of having a selection with male suitors, and the unique challenges and situations that it brought to the story. However, at the end of the day I found myself struggling to finish The Crown, which had the paradoxical feeling of being a slow read with a plot resolution that was far too fast.

The Crown isn’t a bad book, but it’s a book that did itself a disservice by the lack of focus on The Selection and cramming all of the interesting plot twists and resolutions into the last 20 pages. At the end of the day, at least I have a series of beautiful covers sitting on my shelf.

But again it’s my opinion.I’ll give 3/5 stars to this book.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW-THE CROWN by Kiera Cass (spoiler free)

  1. Pingback: Hasta la vista August! (Wrap up’16) – Girl Who Reads

Leave a Reply

